With summer's grip still holding on to East Texas and not much rain chances in the forecast, more and more East Texas counties are enacting burn bans.

Due to very dry conditions and not much relief on the way in the form of rain, Smith County was added to the burn ban list this morning along with three other East Texas counties enacting burn bans Monday. Cherokee County, Morris County and Cass County are all now under official burn bans making it illegal to do any type of outdoor burning. When most burn bans are enacted they are active for a thirty day period, however, some could have a shorter or longer life span. You will want to check with your local fire marshal to see when your county's burn ban will expire.

The following counties are currently under burn bans:

  • Morris County
  • Cass County
  • Marion County
  • Upshur County
  • Harrison County
  • Gregg County
  • Rusk County
  • Cherokee County
  • Anderson County
  • Henderson County
  • Smith County

You can see a full map of all the Texas counties that are under burn bans from Texas A&M Forest Service.

More From 107-3 KISS-FM