Are you current on your rent or mortgage payments?

Reason I ask is because the Texas Supreme Court ruled that evictions can resume across the state beginning on Monday (June 1st).

107-3 KISS-FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Remember back in March evictions were placed on hold throughout the state from the CARES Act Eviction Moratorium due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, since the economy is starting to re-open and some Texans are still without a job or haven't received their stimulus check the thought of facing an eviction can cause stress.

If you do receive an eviction notice there are a few things you need to know about the process and how you need to prepare.

Here is the timeline of an eviction process in Smith County:

  • From start to finish Approximately 3 weeks.
  • 3 days from notice to vacate to filing of the suit.
  • 10 - 21 days from filing of the suit to the trial date.
  • 5 days to appeal the suit following the hearing required by law.
  • 2 days - the Constable is required by law to post a 24 hour vacate notice on the Writ of Possession
  • 23 - 28 days is the minimum amount of time to evict someone in any county in Texas. It must also be noted that any eviction suit is subject to appeal to the County Courts at Law.

Counties may vary on their eviction rules and regulations so make sure you follow up with your respected county.

Another valuable source of information when facing an eviction is contacting your local Lone Star Legal Aid office.

They deal with numerous cases for low income families like Civil Matters in Criminal Justice, Employment, Health Care, and Housing just to name a few.

If you or someone you know is having rental assistance you can contact the PATH agency by clicking here.

KEEP READING: 50 community resources supporting Americans financially impacted by COVID-19

More From 107-3 KISS-FM